School of Science, Mathematics and Technology Education

Welcome to the School of Science, Mathematics and Technology Education


We are part of the University of KwaZulu-Natal under the Faculty of Education. Our school is made up of four main disciplines namely, Science Education, Mathematics Education, Technology Education, and Computer Science Education and offers over 50 - 60 modules per semester in Initial Teacher Education, Continuing Education, and Postgraduate programmes. We have 33 permanent staff and 50 non-permanent staff for the delivery of our various disciplines, both at Edgewood and Pmb campuses. We have 3 professors and 7 senior lecturers amongst our staff. 16 of the academic staff holds a PhD.


As part of the College of Humanities at UKZN, Faculty of Education, the SSMTE is committed to developing the university as a premier institution of African scholarship. Thus our strategic vision and mission emphasizes the intellectual, educational and cultural development of the region and globally in its concerns around Mathematics, Science & Technology Education in general, ICT education, IKS & AIDS research, and Curriculum issues in SSMTE education. The staff are committed to democratic values and social justice, and to responding to the development challenges of MST education and education in South Africa.

Event Not Found.
Latest News
Latest Events

Mr. Sabelo Mthembu
Tel: 031 260 2611
Fax: 031 260 3697
Miss Thembelihle Dlamini
031 2603416
Fax: 031 260 3697
Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved